Chilling out at the Library

IMG_1144The heat’s been pretty uncomfortable this week in the northeastern United States. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve come to learn that my range of temperature comfort exists between the degrees of about 60 – 82, and only with low humidity. In other words, I’m kind of a pain with the weather. The good news is, when I love it, I really love it, and if you’re near me on one of those picture perfect days, you’ll probably hear me say “Could it BE any nicer out?” at least 12 times an hour. (I guess if you’re near me, that might not exactly be good news because I can imagine it gets a bit annoying.) So since we’re currently not in my ideal temperature comfort zone, I decided I needed to spend some time in the great (air conditioned) indoors.

IMG_1152

Books can take you anywhere!

As I child I loved to read. I devoured books like they were chocolate covered pretzels. (I really love chocolate covered pretzels.) I still adore reading, but unfortunately don’t have the time that I used to. However, whenever I pick up a book, I truly feel like a child again. The fact that I can be instantly transported to wherever the author wants to take me is amazing, and I can sit and read, engrossed for hours. I would love for my children to find the joy and adventure in books like I have, but I don’t know if they will. They’re still young, so I don’t want to push too hard or make reading seem like a chore. I could have headed to the bookstore to buy them a stack of books, but that didn’t seem like a wise idea. So in the end it was my thriftiness, wish for comfort, and love of books that helped make my decision to visit our town library a no-brainer.

To me, libraries are treasures. Where else can you get your hands on so many books (including ebooks & audiobooks), CDs, DVDs and magazines for absolutely no cost? Our library also has a delightful children’s room with daily story time for the little ones, book clubs, a few computers, crafts, toys, games and puzzles. The large basement area is decorated with whimsical paintings on the walls and fluffy pillows for sitting on the floor. There are Thomas trains to play with, and small tables where kids can color with crayons and coloring books that are provided. Of course my kids usually find their way to the computers, but they’re loaded with educational games and each child gets a time limit. After their allotted computer time today, I made sure we made our way to the books and chose a few to take home. I was even able to make my way upstairs to the adult section of the library so I could pick up something for myself. If I’m lucky, I might even get to read it!

IMG_1145

A place to hang out and read

IMG_1150

Story time & crafts room for little ones

 

I feel fortunate to have such a great library in my town, but believe me, any library can be a treasure because of what’s inside. It’s the perfect destination, even if the weather isn’t unbearable.

Leave a Reply

